Ironic but terrifying: Draft EU legislation that seeks to suppress anti-feminist opinions

I am sorry it has taken me so long to write another post – things have been pretty busy at work, plus I have been spending my time trying to understand the wonderful world of Twitter. Driven to the site by my desire to babble away through the Twittersilence (ahhh that wonderful idea of Ms Moran’s that set the feminists at each other’s throats) I have discovered both amazing support but also feminist fueled insanity that has made me more determined than ever to challenge the self-righteousness of a set of people who believe that nothing should happen in this world on terms other than their own.

The draft of the new EU regulations is available here and calls for ‘concrete action to combat intolerance, in particular with a view to eliminating, racism, colour-bias, ethnic discrimination, religious intolerance, totalitarian ideologies, xenophobia, anti-Semitism, anti-feminism and homophobia’.

Seriously? What the hell is wrong with the phrase ‘equal gender rights’? What serious person is actually going to have a problem with a term like that?

Oh the irony of the fact that in the same sentence they are trying to get rid of ‘totalitarian ideologies’…

Feminism here is the odd one out – the only example above in which people are obliged to adopt a particular ideology, and where opposition to that ideology can be assumed as an intolerant act. That’s almost like calling me Islamophobic because I don’t convert to Islam and live as a Muslim. Or that I am against civil rights because I don’t attend black power meetings and call myself a black power activist. Call it ‘gender equality’ and I’ll sign up. We don’t need an ‘ism’ for that. I do appreciate the difference between the terms ‘anti-feminist’ and ‘non-feminist’ – I personally try to use the term non-feminist because I want to show that I respect the rights of people to be part of it as an ideology. But I also deserve the right to criticise that ideology, particularly when it’s owners are trying to spread it in such a militant way. Does opposing feminist views make me an anti-feminist? Probably – but I believe I have the right to opt out of a label that by its very nature implies that the world is wrong and needs to be re-organised.

I and others come under tremendous attack when we argue that feminism is not synonymous with ‘equal gender rights’, and indeed one of the main things that an examination of how ‘feminism’ is coming across on Twitter has convinced me is that one of the most significant problems here is the word ‘feminism’ itself. Is it not obvious that using the word ‘feminism’ to define gender equality only works if one buys into the idea that life is so skewed, unfair and biased against women that the whole system has to be redesigned to compensate for this? For anyone who does not believe this to be true the idea of ‘feminism’ becomes an entirely self-defeating argument – as the term focuses on one gender only as the key to ‘equality’. Oh and to those idiots who say that feminism is better for everyone because in countries with more feminism there is more freedom for the rest of society too… don’t you think that it might… just possibly… be the other way around? Just think about cause and effect there for a second please.

I personally can’t think of any other issue where the ‘problem’ isn’t given the special name (such as racism, sexism, anti-Semitism, terrorism) and viewed as some sort of an opt-in. However with feminism it’s ok to assume that the whole world is evil unless they choose to adopt this particular label – which in turn gives the feminists the ammunition to argue that anyone who refuses to adopt their label is evidence for the need of feminism, rather than that fact people just think it’s a load of immature nonsense that fails to deal with the real issues and that they may, in fact, be right.

Do a search for the term ‘feminism’ on Twitter and see what comes up. There will almost certainly be a bunch of tweets along the lines of ‘to all those people who say they’re not feminists… you just don’t understand what it means!’ I think it’s time we started pointing out that the solution to someone disagreeing with you is not just to call them stupid.

Or at least we’d better take the opportunity to do that until we’re prevented from doing so by law.

About femalefedupwithfeminism

I am a very proud non feminist female. I believe that women and men are equally valid as people and I don't think women need an 'ism' to prove this. I don't believe in the 'patriarchy'. I don't believe that it is harder to be a woman than to be a man. I don't believe that everything that is gender specific is automatically sexist. I do not hate or wish harm to anyone; I simply believe that there is a more mature and constructive way of dealing with many of the problems faced by both men and women in today's confusing and changing world than applying what is essentially a fundamentalist ideology to every aspect of society and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ironic but terrifying: Draft EU legislation that seeks to suppress anti-feminist opinions

  1. yeravos says:

    It’s frightening knowing that society at large, as it is today, would very likely accept this kind wording in regulations from EU.

  2. justindevere says:

    Parts of Europe have tried this kind of thought control in the past; people never like it.

    I wonder what happens when ‘religious tolerance’ collides with ‘anti-feminism’ or ‘homophobia’. Are they like cards, is one an ace and another a king, and if so, who decides that? It seems like a recipe for confusion. Just stick with the Golden Rule!

    Sometimes it may be better not to codify things in this way.

  3. Richard Ford says:

    It is interesting to consider how they will decide who is an anti feminist since they are incapable of defining feminist and every feminist is ‘not that kind of feminist’ anyway.

    It sounds as if the police will invent their own definitions on the spot.

  4. Richard Ford says:

    I have read this document. What a mess it is! Clearly the work of a committee with differing agendas. Some parts barely make sense. The most worrying aspect is that the EU believes it has no duty to grant free speech to ‘intolerant’ groups. This means that unpopular opinions such as may be read in the blog are not even allowed to explain to the public that they are not intolerant.

    Basically it is a meaningless and circular catch all that allows the powerful to silence everyone they do not like.

  5. Thanks for posting! It is just frightening to me – who is going to get to decide what it ‘intolerant’? I genuinely fear for my safety with crap like this around and it gives me the impetus to carry on!

  6. richardavick says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with your argument, but would take it a step further even, and say that feminism is actually anti-feminist, in that it damages women.

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I personally agree with you – as a woman I do find feminism demeaning but I was trying to ind a way to appeal to people with neutral views in this article…it’s nice to know there are people out there who agree with me though!

    • Lyall says:

      Feminism is not anti-feminist, feminism is misogynistic as I explain here: http://lyall.tumblr.com/post/63754248362

      Seeing feminism called misogynistic infuriates feminists, probably because they think they are the sole rightful arbiters of what is and is not woman hating.

      Interestingly the only negative comments I have received about studying midwifery have come from feminists but I guess that’s to be expected from sexists.

  7. female not feminist says:

    Thanks for your perspective…

  8. female not feminist says:

    First off, love your blog! I believe in equal rights and am generally progressive, but in the past few years I have seen so-called “feminists” become very nasty and hateful towards those who don’t agree with the third wave agenda. Instead of seeking equality, I see that feminism today is just a gigantic umbrella of far left, fringe causes. I don’t necessarily disagree with some of these platforms, but it gets ridiculous when in order to call yourself pro-woman you have to be a “trans advocate” or crusade against “fat shaming” and “ablism”.

    Also, I believe that modern internet feminists are some of the worst exploiters of women out there. How so? Well, consider that feminist blogs make money off of click cash, so when they blog about r*pe victims, they are literally making money off the victim’s tragedy (I am thinking Stubbenville or the Indian bus case here) -which IMO is way worse than someone posing nude by choice or any number of dumb things modern feminists get upset about. When I have pointed this out and said that as a stranger assault survivor myself, I think they are a bunch of hypocrites who are making money off other people’s suffering, they (with maximum snark and bitchiness)claim they are “raising awareness”. Bullshit.

    What they are doing is USING real women’s pain to fight their petty internet battles with MRA’s (and make click cash from internet pervs at the same time!). Also, I don’t think anyone is “unaware” of the reality of sexual assault in the modern world, and I resent their implications that all men have the potential to sexually assault someone.This is very offensive to me as a married woman who knows plenty of men who have zero interest in forcing themselves on women, and are respectful, cool guys. It just seems that instead of saying, “There are men out there who will try to hurt you and get away with it, so be aware” instead they say “all men secretly just want assault and abuse women” which is a steaming crock of shit IMO.

    At any rate, I find it funny that a group of women who claim to be crusading on behalf of “r*pe victims” treated me with derision and insults when I told them that I am a survivor who prefers taking responsibility for my safety instead of carte blanch blaming “men”. They are only interested in flogging “sexual assault” because they can weld it as a weapon against men and writing sleazy headlines with the r-word in them makes them lots of click cash. It’s just so fucking arrogant.

    This isn’t just junk blogs like Jezebel, feministe, or feministing but also Huff Po, Slate, Salon and pretty much any media that targets women. The line is if you don’t agree with “feminism” you must be an evil, woman hater, religious prude, Republican, racist, sexist or a woman who has “internalized misogyny”.

    Finally, the thing that gets me most is that they can’t have debate with women that disagree, and they immediately jump to blanket statements, assumptions and “snark”(otherwise known as petty, passive aggressive insecurity masked as being “tough”). It’s just pathetic and I’m tired of not being able to find any middle ground on the internet anymore where “women’s issues” are concerned. Whenever I have tried to have intelligent debate with anyone identifying as a feminist on the internet, they have consistently tried to shut me down with dumb memes like, “If you believe in women’s rights, you are a feminist”. To which I respond “If you believe in love you are an evangelical Christian – see how reductionist and illogical that is?” But they don’t want to debate, they just want to be ‘right’ and any woman who doesn’t want to tow the ‘perpetual victim” card is seen as a traitor and enemy.

    Whew, that was long but I just wanted to let you know that you are not alone and their are plenty of other women out here that are pro women’s rights but fed up with modern internet-based “feminism”. Thanks.

    • darlingdoll says:

      @femalefedupwithfeminism @Female Not Feminist I think you are both absolutely brilliant! Fantastic article and amazing comment. I love reading these types of posts that are so well thought out and articulate. I wish that I could write half as well as either of you. Thank you for being two of far too few voices of reason and sanity.

      • Thanks for the kind words! I’ve had so many people of both genders saying how important it is to make these views known, so as long as we keep contributing in our small way it will make a difference!

      • There are lots of voices online nowadays. Not just females but males too. And, personally, most MRAs are great. There are a minority of misogynists amongst MRAs, so don’t let that put you off.

    • “and I resent their implications that all men have the potential to sexually assault someone.This is very offensive to me as a married woman who knows plenty of men who have zero interest in forcing themselves on women, and are respectful, cool guys.”
      Yeah, and imagine how utterly offensive this is to men! Also, if they say that all men are potential rapists then it can equally be said that, all women are potential false rape/sexual assault accusers! I used to be a hypnotherapist and my male collegues were very warey of ending up with false accusations of assualt from female clients, so much so that in supervision meetings & online groups for therapists there would be discussions on whether they should video all sessions etc etc. It’s not that they had the view that all women are potential rape/sexual assault accusers but they just didn’t want to end up in a situation that could cause a hugh ammount of distress, not to mention the end of their careers.

    • I’ve been told that if I believe in equality between genders then I’m a feminist so then why do most people who call themselves feminists not treat men and women equally? For example, if a woman in tight jeans is used in an advert then that’s sexist because it’s objectifying women and therefore is responsible for rape and sexual assault, yet if a man wearing just a pair of shorts is used to advertise something this is not sexist, feminists don’t care to complain about male objectification re: this advert. Why? Because women don’t go out and rape men.

  9. Oh my gosh – THANK YOU so much for posting this on my blog! I am so proud that my blog has attracted comments like this.

    I am wondering if you have seen this article?
    http://therockabillybutterfly.com/2013/03/30/the-rape-culture-epidemic/

    I think it’s so important for people like you who have had these experiences to speak out – it must take a lot to stand up to people who express themselves in such absolute terms so I have a lot of respect for that.

    Are you UK based??

  10. “The draft of the new EU regulations is available here and calls for ‘concrete action to combat intolerance, in particular with a view to eliminating, racism, colour-bias, ethnic discrimination, religious intolerance, totalitarian ideologies, xenophobia, anti-Semitism, anti-feminism and homophobia’.” Where’s sexism?? Or are we supposed to believe that feminism = anti-sexism hence anti-feminism = pro-sexism? Pah!

Leave a Reply

