Feminist pressure groups taking steps to ensure censorship of criticism: A threat to freedom of speech and liberty for us all

A a user of Facebook myself, I have been aware of the fact that certain feminist pressure groups have been successful in having content that advocates violence towards women removed. I have no problem with this per se, however I was slightly disturbed by the fact that they were using the presence of certain Facebook pages as evidence of endemic misogyny and sexism in our society and the media. I am sure that if you look hard enough there will be material out there that encourages people to believe all sorts of awful or crazy things, and I agree that this needs to be dealt with. However, I personally feel that rather than turning the whole process into a series of moves that essentially used blackmail to persuade Facebook to change their policy for fear of a PR disaster, it would have been more mature and constructive (not to mention democratic) instead to encourage a debate about the real issues here that affect us all:

What should/should not be allowed on the internet?

Who should get to decide whether material that expresses an opinion that may be offensive to some is appropriate?

However, things have now taken a highly sinister turn. When the men’s rights movement launched a campaign that tried to present the other side of the ‘rape culture’ debate, it became apparent that what the femnists had really achieved was to set up a censorship policy under which they could not be criticised.

Many thanks to the brave woman who writes Shining Pearls of Something for bringing this to my attention:

http://shiningpearlsofsomething.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/facebook-censorship-begins-wow-that-was.html

Feminists have long endeavored to have their opponents labeled as ‘haters’ and their material censored as ‘hate’. Well, I am not a ‘hater’, I am just a woman who believes, from the bottom of my heart, that they are wrong. I ask them to respect my right to feel and express this. I ask them to consider whether they are happy that I am currently writing this in fear of repercussions and having my voice silenced. I ask them to consider who is oppressing whom.

Please go to this Facebook page and tell them exactly why this is wrong:

https://www.facebook.com/notes/facebook-safety/controversial-harmful-and-hateful-speech-on-facebook/574430655911054

About femalefedupwithfeminism

I am a very proud non feminist female. I believe that women and men are equally valid as people and I don't think women need an 'ism' to prove this. I don't believe in the 'patriarchy'. I don't believe that it is harder to be a woman than to be a man. I don't believe that everything that is gender specific is automatically sexist. I do not hate or wish harm to anyone; I simply believe that there is a more mature and constructive way of dealing with many of the problems faced by both men and women in today's confusing and changing world than applying what is essentially a fundamentalist ideology to every aspect of society and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Feminist pressure groups taking steps to ensure censorship of criticism: A threat to freedom of speech and liberty for us all

  1. David M. Green says:

    Reblogged this on Autumn Leaves and commented:
    Censorship is wrong no matter the reason or who is doing it! That said censorship works both ways and there is absolutely nothing Face Book can do if like minded men were to ban together and complain LOUDLY to those corporations using Face Book to sell their products. Don”t by shy go to a corporate page and leave them a note explaining why you refuse to like their page and won’t be buying their products in the future.

    • Thank you so much for reblogging and following me David – it means a lot to have such strong support from the beginning. As you say, my overall objective is to encourage people who can see reason to band together like the feminists are doing now – it’s the only way we’ll be able to make a change.

      • David M. Green says:

        Your welcome and welcome to the fight! I look forward to reading your upcoming articles. 🙂

  2. I have absolutely no problem with Facebook systematically taking down or disallowing pages that show acts of depravity and abuse against women and girls. These have no business being up on a social media site, and are revolting too. However, the next step should be to also take down pages that show similar acts against men and boys. If sexism against females is disgusting, then sexism against males is too. It’s only fair.

    But I’ve not seen any feminists seriously speaking up about this. If feminism is all about equality, where is the petition asking Facebook to remove images of violence against men? This is the reason I never became a modern feminist or bought into their ideals…they say the work for equality between women and men, yet 99% of the time only support women’s causes. It may be because I identify much more strongly with males, but I could never condone an ideology that only focuses on 52% of the population.

    Egalitarian all the way…

    • I quite agree! what upsets me so much is that the feminists forget that for every woman who is treated badly or forgotten about there is almost certainly at least one man in the same scenario, but who is there to raise hell for his rights…

  3. Pingback: Another One Bites The Dust #feminism #againstfeminisms | Quiet Riot Girl

  4. Ginkgo says:

    Welcome to the fight. We’ll re-blog you and come by to check in after that.

  5. Cicero says:

    This is a great example of how far they want to go. Actually it is just an example of the beginning of where they will lead us unless they are stopped by others, as they will just escalate it. All sorts of normal beliefs held by large segments of the population with regards to statistical gender differences etc. are labeled as hate speech by some and as you can see they are starting to push that agenda into law. Obviously they will take it a lot further if they can. And with the reasoning feminism is necessary to avoid hatred of women means that criticism of feminism in any way is hate speech they will have a full on dictatorship:

    http://forums.avoiceformen.com/showthread.php?tid=2971

  6. Name calling critics as haters is very reminiscent of religious believers. I am with the late art critic Robert Hughes who wrote “Culture of Complaint” that the answer to hate speech is more speech, not less.

  7. Susannah says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

